Skip to main content

I have been using AS for several months now. I have won some but I have lost a lot more than I have won. Nearly every time it is because I am outbid by an EB proxy bid that was placed days earlier. However, I don't know about this competition because no one else is bidding on the item. The bid price appears deceptively low until the last few seconds. Sure my snipe is the max I am willing to pay for the item so I lost because of that. But can somebody please explain to me the advantage of using snipes (and paying for the service) over posting a maximum proxy bid on EB. Because right now I fail to see why I should bother. Thanx.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

To be frank, you are unfortunate because you are in a limited marketplace - i.e. Few bidders.

This means that there is no substitute for gaining a better knowledge of those bidding against you and what they are willing to pay. It looks to me as if you are "out of touch" with what people are prepared to pay.

This may be for two reasons:
1. Your knowledge of current values is faulty
2. Some bidders are willing to pay unrealistic prices.

It could be either - I want a new car hood for my old car and I don't wont to pay £400 for a new one as I want to sell it shortly. So far I have been outbid every time for people willing to pay nearly £300 for one with a short lifespan (old convertible hoods exposed to the sun lose their "plasticity" as they age, so a four year old one, however good it looks has only a couple of years life left)

Now this is their ignorance not mine - a £400 hood three years old is only worth £200!
So how do you win?

In my case if its £300 on ebay, I'm much better off buying a new one at $400!

In your case appraise the market and if its an antique or rare good, there are venues other than eBay (less publicised local auctions perhaps) where you will get the good cheaper.