Skip to main content

Okay, I am a sniper newbie and, I can be a bit slowwwww, but could someone please help me make sense of this? My snipe went exactly as prescribed. The winner outbid me by an incremental increase on a bid placed one day before the auction ended, though they had no previous bids. Huh? Here is the final part of the bid sequence...
Ended: Sep-13-04 11:26:05 PDT
cleitzsey ( 23) US $84.67 Sep-12-04 20:40:44 PDT
littlenorthfork ( 20) US $83.67 Sep-13-04 11:26:02 PDT
brianlauro ( 7 ) US $65.00 Sep-13-04 09:23:56 PDT
brianlauro ( 7 ) US $60.00 Sep-13-04 09:22:11 PDT
dana1752 ( 46) US $51.26 Sep-10-04 05:59:28 PDT
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

littlenorthfork . . . cleitzsey could have bid $90 or $900, but prior to your bid at $83.67 it showed that cleitzsey was winning the auction at $66.00 (which is $1.00 above brianlauro's highest bid of $66.00 at that time) . . . your bid of $83.67 pushed cleitzsey up to $84.67 (which is $1.00 above your max bid) but it still doesn't reveal just how high cleitzsey was willing to pay for it . . . cleitzsey made his bid the night of 9/20/2004 and basically was daring to see if anyone would bid higher than him . . . he is probably pissed to see your bid as it cost him $18.67 (which is $84.67 minus $66.00) extra than what it would have cost his if you hadn't showed up. . . . at least you got your pound of flesh out of cleitzsey and you know that it didn't slip away for less than what you were willing to pay. regards, steve
quote:
Originally posted by littlenorthfork:
Thanks R2. If I understand correctly, the proxy bidder's bid does not appear in the bid history until the end of the auction nor does it affect the bidding... sort of an unbid. Maybe they should call it 7up bidding.

The bid appears during the auction, but not the full amount, only the amount that is one increment ahead of the second-highest bidder.
quote:
Originally posted by Chatter: