The change to linking your account was done to ensure your security and to increase the chance of placing a winning snipe. Your password is your private information, it identifies you to other sites, ebay in this case, and potentially other web sites you access if you use the same password; you many not, but statistics show many people do. Linking your ebay account eliminates this security risk and ensures your snipes are placed no matter how ebay changes its site. No more captcha blocks or login errors. You can can sever your auction sniper link with ebay easily by closing your auction sniper account and the link will be removed. You can also revoke the linkage on ebay at anytime from the 3rd party authorization section on your ebay account page. If you have any additional questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team here , they are happy to answer any questions you may have.