I do not know exactly why this increase in price occurred. Those who already made a bid they have to now suffer. I guess there was no notice that such thing will occur. People might have been more alert if there was a notice.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .