AuctionSniper.com

Home

Sign-up

Community

Features

Help

My Snipes

How Much? | Testimonials

Auction Sniper    eBay Auction Sniper Community    eBay Auction Sniper Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  eBay, General    Anyone hear anything bad about e-gold?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
JD
Sniper In Training
Posted
Just won an e-bay auction from a seller with no feedback who wants me to pay him him via a website called E-gold. I'm wondering what recourse I have if I pay the guy but receive nothing.
Could the same thing happen with Paypal?

Any ideas?

-John
 
Posts: 9 | Registered: February 24, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
I personally never heard of it. Were these instructions posted on the auction site?

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Snipeaholic
Picture of MORY
Posted Hide Post
JD: E Gold is a large internet coin dealer in Gold Coins. If you had a credit there you might - unless they went into the MO business.
Go to Alta Vista and Enter E-
Gold and you can get an Idea.
I would buy a MO if the Auction allows it. You should have some protection
mory
 
Posts: 1080 | Registered: January 02, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
JD
Sniper In Training
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Mrs.M:
I personally never heard of it. Were these instructions posted on the auction site?

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-10/421255/grandma123.gif http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-10/421255/Mrs123.gif


Nope, e-mailed to me.
Call me paranoid but I have a bad feeling about this. Seller has no feedback.
Here is the email.....

Hello,
You have won item *******************
The total is $620+$25(shipping) = $645.00
I accept payments via e-gold (www.e-gold.com) only.
To pay me with MO, please, follow this instructions:
1. Make an e-gold account here (takes 2-3 minutes and absolutely free):
https://www.e-gold.com/newacct/
Read terms and conditions, and click "I agree" button.
Account name - name your future account
User name - your name
Points of contact - enter you contact information, if you wish - it is needed only if you forget your passphrase.
Passphrase - password for your account.
Then enter turning number, and press "open" button.
Check e-mail to get your e-gold account number.
2. Then fund your e-gold account here:
http://www.tampaexchange.net/moneyorder.html

Fill in the form with following information:
First and last names - first and last names of sender
Phone - your phone
e-mail - your e-mail, to send you confirmation letter when money come.
E-Currency Account Name :- name of your e-gold account name
Your E-Currency Account # - your e-gold account number
Date Money/Postal Order Was Sent - the date MO was sent
Money/Postal Order Amount $ - The sum of MO (I pay all the fees, so send just the sum you owe me)
Additional Comments If Needed: Number of your MO only

Check the terms and conditions box and press "submit" button.
Send MO to the address wrote on the next page :
Robert L Wahl
5202 WINDLAFF AVENUE
TAMPA, FL 33625
wait until money come (2-3 days)
3. E-mail me when you're ready to "spend" e-metal to my e-gold account. This transaction takes a few seconds, so I'll get your money in a moment.
You'll get your item in a 2-3 days after receiving money.Item is brand new and factory sealed.I ship via UPS tracking number will be send after your request. Don't forget to send me your shipping address.
Regards.

P.S: I found this site for you http://www.zyworld.com/goldhelp
you can use it as payment instruction.
 
Posts: 9 | Registered: February 24, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
May I ask..is this some kind of electronics?

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
Call me the same!!! No way!!

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Snipeaholic
Picture of MORY
Posted Hide Post
JD: The Only approved Escrow service by E-Bay is wwwescrow.com for items over $500.
You can read all about it under E-Bay Payment Instructions. Its worth the fee charged for the protection. If you use anyone but this approved service E-Bay is not going to help you. Buyer BeWare Always
But you should read the entire E-Bay Policy .
 
Posts: 1080 | Registered: January 02, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Hall Of Fame
Picture of Bartelby
Posted Hide Post
JD - you prolly should edit out that sellers home address. Smile

Lexie
 
Posts: 4146 | Registered: July 12, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
JD, I agree. I read this gold thing and I sure would not touch it. Since it was not mentioned ahead of time, he can't make you.

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
JD
Sniper In Training
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Mrs.M:
May I ask..is this some kind of electronics?

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-10/421255/grandma123.gif http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-10/421255/Mrs123.gif


Yes, a DVD recorder.
-J
 
Posts: 9 | Registered: February 24, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
JD
Sniper In Training
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Bartelby:
JD - you prolly should edit out that sellers home address. Smile

_Lexie_
http://img11.photobucket.com/albums/v34/Bartelby/smilies-23702.png http://img11.photobucket.com/albums/v34/Bartelby/ozflag.gif http://img11.photobucket.com/albums/v34/Bartelby/mooner-smiley.gif


Oops
Me bad.
That address was probably just set up for my benefit anyway. Wink
 
Posts: 9 | Registered: February 24, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
JD
Sniper In Training
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Mory:
JD: E Gold is a large internet coin dealer in Gold Coins. If you had a credit there you might - unless they went into the MO business.
Go to Alta Vista and Enter E-
Gold and you can get an Idea.
I would buy a MO if the Auction allows it. You should have some protection
mory


MO = Money Order????

-John
 
Posts: 9 | Registered: February 24, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
Not always, but there are more scams in eletronics than any other catagory. It may be fine , but I would be very careful.

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
Yes, MO is money order. The problem I see also is that you knew from the git go that he had no feedback and did not take paypal.

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sharp Shooter
Picture of bjones9942
Posted Hide Post
JD - If the seller didn't state that they only accept this 'e-gold' payment in the auction description then I'd tell them you'll be sending a money order. If they *did* mention it, and you bid anyway then I'd email them and ask if they really wouldn't take another form of payment.

Mother Mary Says, 'HONESTLY! you're just ruint!'
 
Posts: 638 | Registered: November 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
Bj, he said it was not in the auction, so I don't think he is obligated to ues it, do you?

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sharp Shooter
Picture of bjones9942
Posted Hide Post
Ahhh ... I'm putting my glasses on now Wink

No, but I wonder what payment methods were listed in the auction ... don't you have to choose something when you post an auction (it's been a while - I don't remember!)?

Mother Mary Says, 'HONESTLY! you're just ruint!'
 
Posts: 638 | Registered: November 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
Yes, I believe one was money order but I don't know what else.

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sniper Deity
Picture of Mrs.M
Posted Hide Post
What the heck kind of dvd recorder cost 650 dollars??

 
Posts: 12140 | Registered: July 27, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
JD
Sniper In Training
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by bjones9942:
Ahhh ... I'm putting my glasses on now Wink

No, but I wonder what payment methods were listed in the auction ... don't you have to choose something when you post an auction (it's been a while - I don't remember!)?

http://www.escargot.com/pics/mother72.ico Mother Mary Says, '_HONESTLY!_ you're just ruint!'


The guy chose 'other' for the payment method.
-J
 
Posts: 9 | Registered: February 24, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community Page 1 2  
 

Auction Sniper    eBay Auction Sniper Community    eBay Auction Sniper Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  eBay, General    Anyone hear anything bad about e-gold?

Copyright © 2000-2004 AuctionSniper.com - All Rights Reserved.
AuctionSniper.com is in no way affiliated with eBay.com.